Announcement of Samvid Scholars 2022 Cohort

NEW YORK, NY / October 26, 2022 – Samvid Ventures, a philanthropic foundation dedicated to improving lives through education and entrepreneurship, announced today the names of the twenty young people selected as the second class of Samvid Scholars. Samvid Scholars is a merit-based graduate scholarship established in 2021 by Samvid Ventures to invest in the graduate education of future leaders who are committed to effecting positive change in society.   

The twenty Scholars in the 2022 class were selected from a pool of nearly 1000 applicants based on their track record of leadership, their commitment to service, and their potential to drive step-changes in society. This second class of Scholars includes outstanding young leaders in public health and medicine, law and social justice, social enterprise and technology development, policy and politics, community economic development and philanthropy, education, and journalism.    

In addition to receiving up to $100,000 in funding for their graduate program, Samvid Scholars engage  in two years of leadership development programming to support them to fulfill their extraordinary potential to drive change.  

The 2021 and 2022 cohorts kicked off Samvid’s two-year leadership development program in early August with a multi-day seminar, co-designed and facilitated by the Aspen Institute, focused on supporting Samvid Scholars to reflect on key questions of leadership, service, and purpose. During the seminar, Scholars engaged in discussions on values and driving change, along with community-building activities.  

The application for the 2023 class of Samvid Scholars will open in early 2023. 

Full list of 2022 Scholars

Name, degree sought, university

  • Chinmay Bakshi, MD at Harvard Medical School  
  • Michael Bervell, MBA at Harvard Business School   
  • Keith Calix, MPP at Harvard Kennedy School and MBA at Stanford Graduate School of Business  
  • Ishaan Desai, MD at Harvard Medical School  
  • Anthony Diep Rosas, MD at University of California San Francisco Medical School   
  • Daniella Efrat, MA in Sociology at Stanford University and JD at Yale Law School  
  • Feyisope Eweje, MD at Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania and MBA at Stanford Graduate School of Business  
  • Ashlee Fox, JD at Yale Law School   
  • Natalie Geismar, JD at Yale Law School   
  • Megan Gimmen, MD at Harvard Medical School   
  • Oscar de Los Santos, JD at Yale Law School   
  • Bennett Lunn, JD at Columbia University School of Law  
  • Amanda Moreno, MD at Harvard Medical School  
  • Sai Shanthanand Rajagopal, MD at Harvard Medical School    
  • Rhys Richmond, MD at Yale School of Medicine   
  • Isani Singh, MD at Harvard Medical School  
  • Eric Strand, MD at Harvard Medical School  
  • Jackson Whang, MBA at Stanford Graduate School of Business  
  • Lilith Winkler-Schor, Masters in Urban Planning at University of California Los Angeles  
  • Kevin Yang, JD at Yale Law school